What's your opinion on taxidermying your pets?

What's your opinion on taxidermying your pets?

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

  1. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    I actually did it once. Guinea pig died unexpectedly and I wasn’t ready to let go. She also happened to have a really exceptional silkie black and white coat. Took a lot of looking to find a taxidermist willing to do it, cost a bundle, and it was an unambitious tanned hide not a full mount or anything. I think it helped me grieve, happy I did it, but I buried subsequent ones in the back yard like a normal autist.

  2. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    i cant imagine that being any good for the owners mental health. just let go of the dead pet. youre not putting it on display because its a hunting trophy. youre doing it cause you cant handle loss. its just very bizarre to do that to a pet.

  3. 4 months ago
    Anonymous
  4. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    This is the funniest image I have seen in 17 years on this website and it's not even close

  5. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    There are like 6 different churches in europe constructed out of human bones so by comparison this doesn't seem that bad.

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      Honestly, given how prevalent Christianity has been thorough out most of European history, I'm surprised there are only six churches that are decorated with hundreds of skulls.

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      Hundreds of skulls becomes mundane. If it were only a single skull from someone you know, then it'd be scary

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      I fricking love these places. Visiting bone churches and crypts of Europe is a on going project for me. Next summer it's a trip to Czechia with plan to visit Sedlec ossuary.

  6. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    My family used to have a cat who layed on the top of the couch in a very specific position and we often joked that when she died we should get her taxidermied in that position and we'd never even know she was dead. Never actually went through with it though.

  7. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    I like looking at taxidermied animals but you'd think that the person most violently opposed to it would be its fricking owner.

  8. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    Extremely creepy, one of the few things that make me physically sick.

  9. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    It's neurotic.
    Let it go.

  10. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    It's creepy. It's like taxidermizing your grandma and displaying her in the living room. Just creepy serial killer behavior.

  11. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    Do I have to wait until the dog dies?
    I like dogs, I like how they look but I don't want to put up with the barking and the breaking of stuff and having to feed and walk it
    I much rather have my dog taxidermied so I can keep it as furniture

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      Why not just buy a taxidermied dog in the first place.

  12. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    >YOU ARE MINE YOU HEAR!? WHERE EVER YOU ARE, YOUR SOUL MIGHT BE GONE BUT I STILL HAVE YOU BODY AND IT WILL BE MINE FOREVER!!! YOU WILL NEVER LEAVE ME, EVEN IF I DIE YOU LR BODY WILL STILL BE STUFFED LIKE A LITTLE PLAY DOLL!!! YOU WILL NEVER ESCAPE!!

  13. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    I don't think my pets would like it, but sometimes when they piss me off it's tempting.

  14. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    It feels like it would just be super depressing seeing your frozen, misshapen dog/cat's silent unmoving corpse in your living room staring at you with its dull button eyes.

  15. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    Borderline psychopathic, death is a part of life. Bury them or cremate.

  16. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    I think creating a sculpture, a figure made out of felt, or even a painting would be so much nicer than a taxidermy.

  17. 4 months ago
    Anonymous

    Only people with aphantasia do this, since they can't imagine their deceased loved ones in their mind.

  18. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    I wouldn't do that to my precious parrots.

  19. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    it's pretty funny,
    Trying to convince my family to turn our weiner dog into a pillow when it croaks.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      Like this?

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        not that fat. More like this but a little fatter.

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          El perro gordito coca cola

  20. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    ive considered taking my cats paw and embalming it as a memento.

  21. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    my fricking sides holy shit

  22. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    it's weird
    but at the end, what's left is a buch of organic matter, whatever you do with it its okay, the animal you loved ended forever

  23. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    hoply fricking shit lmao

  24. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    If you or whoever you commission can do it well why not.

  25. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    Fricking hell woman. What the frick did she expect the taxidermist to do with a bucket full of cat. He's a fricking taxidermist not Jesus. Fricking thing looks like it was hit by all 18 wheels of an 18 wheeler.

  26. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    I was against it until I saw Walter Potter's work

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      wtf

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        More tea, Mrs Pipkin? My my, this is quite a delicious and sumptuous brew.

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          did he murder those kittens to make that

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      those are cool as hell tbh. I would feel sad seeing my cats dead head on one tbh but I still like them.

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      Reminds me of the Bob's Burgers episode.

  27. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    Taxidermy guy was probably dying from laughter

  28. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    Creepy and weird.

  29. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    I'd only think about it if I had a pet with some kind of really unique appearance. Like if I had a cat with a perfect star on its fur or something I'd probably think like "maybe preserving this thing's appearance is the best way to honor its life".

    Doing it to just any old animal seems like it's just rooted in coping over not being able to accept something's death so you HAVE to keep it around in some form.

    Also how do people encounter situations like in the OP? Is it really not just common sense for you to maybe want to see what this taxidermist's work looks like first before handing over your pet to it? It's like going to some seedy tattoo artist and being upset that your baby's face looks like a prison tattoo.

  30. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    With someone like that they need to get a new cat fast, since they will never be able to cope with death.

  31. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    wtf is wrong with americans? just let it go jesus christ

  32. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    Man I cannot imagine how they must be hurting right now. To see your beloved cat's body in such an unnatural, uncanny state. Gives me the creeps just looking at it, I would probably break down if it was my cat. The worst part is they'll either have to keep it and watch this mockery forever or throw it away, which is going to be traumatic in its own right. One more reason not to do it, as if this practice wasn't gruesome enough in the first place.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      They should see if they can retrieve as much as possible and bury or cremate It, It could help to keep the urn since they wanted to have their beloved around. A burial with as much of the body and removed parts retrieved would at least make It a bit more fair for the poor creature.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      toxoplasmosis loaded post

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        my sides

  33. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    If you actually think feathered dinos are a chinese psyop to undermine westetn masculinity or someshit you have a new undescribed kind of autism. Honestly the lead in your chink dinosaur toys probably caused it

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      me when I reply to the wrong thread

  34. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    I'd go insane if I kept the corpses of my pets in my living room

  35. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    taxidermy is for hunting trophies

    it would be fricked up to override the memories of my pets with the unchanging look of a dead body.

    Let them decompose in the ground and keep maybe a paw print for a little grave / shrine

  36. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    I wasted a couple of 1000 euros because I pressed the ashes of my favourite cat into a diamond so I can carry him with me into battle.
    Stuffing your dead animals is just weird in my opinion.

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      >1000 euros because I pressed the ashes of my favourite cat into a diamond
      homosexual , disgusting sodomite you aren't going to battle, just up the stairs

  37. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    some people just need to let it go and accept that their little fur babby is not coming back

    keeping a photo of a dead animal on display is enough. but keeping the dead animal itself on display is just sad.

  38. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    Getting your dead pet taxidermied is trashy as frick. If you loved it so much then give it a respectful burial and cherish the memories you have of it, not put its corpse in your living room.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      Other cultures keep urns or the entire person after death ranging from weeks to months or just forever depending on traditions, burials and specific spots of deposits are just common for us.

      To me, it makes as much sense as displaying your embalmed parents, but Mao and Lenin are both under glass in mausoleums, so maybe materialist atheists can't let go of the dead?

      Could be, or they're from another country or religion entirely, too bad we can't see the original poster but that's maybe for the best

  39. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    To me, it makes as much sense as displaying your embalmed parents, but Mao and Lenin are both under glass in mausoleums, so maybe materialist atheists can't let go of the dead?

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      Even if the case in OP's pic is a particularly fricked up execution, this is exactly why a lot of taxidermists don't take pet commissions. It's very hard to have the end result look 100% like the living animal, which leads to upset owners. I know I wouldn't do it if that was my field of work.
      (Also no, I'm not having my dogs, cats or any pet preserved/stuffed. I'd just find it unsettling personally.)

      Dunno about that strictly being an atheist thing, chief. Here in yurop there's several cathedrals with religious saints, or rather the shrivelled up remains of them, on display in a class case.

      Fricking hell woman. What the frick did she expect the taxidermist to do with a bucket full of cat. He's a fricking taxidermist not Jesus. Fricking thing looks like it was hit by all 18 wheels of an 18 wheeler.

      >Fricking thing looks like it was hit by all 18 wheels of an 18 wheeler
      kek

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        >class case
        Meant a glass case, of course. Putting up human corpses in a classroom would be rather fricked.

        • 5 months ago
          Anonymous

          >Putting up human corpses in a classroom would be rather fricked.
          No wonder kids are so messed up these days...

          • 5 months ago
            Anonymous

            Mr skeltal is usually made of plastic nowadays, and even when he isn't he's still a lot easier on the eyes than some fricked up mummy.

            • 4 months ago
              Anonymous

              >Mr skeltal is usually made of plastic nowadays
              >usually
              Th-there are exceptions?

              • 4 months ago
                Anonymous

                varies around the world but here in bongland human bones are legal to own if they're over 100 years old and obviously you didn't commit some crime to get them. you need a loicense for public display of course.

            • 4 months ago
              Anonymous

              My school had a legit skellington. Some bloke who donated his body probably but teachers told us it was a kid who leaned back on his chair and broke his neck.

      • 4 months ago
        Anonymous

        >Here in yurop there's several cathedrals with religious saints, or rather the shrivelled up remains of them, on display in a class case.
        Mummified *after* death? Hold my Magatama.

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          Cappacin Monks in Rome (which are what Cappacinos are named after) would pre-mummify themselves by eating nothing but sawdust as soon as they thought they were dying
          and they would also do shit like make chandeliers out of baby skeletons for shits and gigs i guess

          • 4 months ago
            Anonymous

            >I think I'm dying senpai
            >sawdust diet here we go
            >*dies*
            >woah he was right, how did he know? must be God

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          >The mummy is notable for sporting a pair of sunglasses, placed by the caretakers to hide the decomposed eye sockets to make the display less disturbing. A native gecko species use the body as a hatchery, with eggs being laid beneath the skin.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      Preserving the dead for the afterlife is a pretty common religious practice

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        Sure in the belief that they will be resurrected. But with the exception of a few Saints Cults, where the body is believed to have magical power for those who view it.

        But when you reject the premise of supernatural power, of resurrection, etc, what purpose is there in the display of the embalmed corpse of the Great Leader?

        • 5 months ago
          Anonymous

          To remind them their leaders were a person like everybody else.

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          It's the same reason pharos were preserved, and cryptically the same reason for Christian preservations. Oh they say it's for resurrection, but if they really thought god would do that, they wouldn't bother with preserving the body. A real god doesn't care about that. They can do anything.
          No, the real reason for every single example is narcissism. Many long remembered leaders are long remembered because the butthole tricked thousands to millions into spreading false tales of greatness about them, even long after death. Leaving a preserved body behind is just the very last frick you to everyone else. Yes, spend time and resources keeping my husk around in perpetuity so I can live in your head forever. Pathetic.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      I'm going to assume you're so fricking moronic you never even learned about Ancient Egypt in class and go on with my day.
      Fricking moron.

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        When were mummies ever put on display dipshit.

        • 4 months ago
          Anonymous

          dont you know every Egyptian household has a mummy on display in their living room?

      • 4 months ago
        Anonymous

        Egyptians were atheists dumbass

  40. 5 months ago
    Anonymous

    it's pretty weird and anyone that does it i believe views animals as objects.

    • 5 months ago
      Anonymous

      Idk, I'd do It for myself if I could, so far mummification and crystalification is closest I can get

      • 5 months ago
        Anonymous

        >crystalfication
        reminds me of that guy who wanted everything but his skull cremated and pressed into sapphires and have them set in the eye sockets of the skull...
        his wife didn't do it. such betrayal. my man just wanted to be a lich.

    • 4 months ago
      Anonymous

      They're not human, so they have more options without some kind of laws getting in the way, unlike that one person who wanted a copy of their book bound in their own leather after dying and couldn't get it done because lawgays. I think the weirdness scales with the reasons why the person is getting a taxidermy, their mental state, and what level/type of respect is being shown. Some cultures keep dead relatives in the house, so why not. I have an ash urn on a shelf.

      Every animal I hunt and eat is an individual. That doesn't change just because one of those individuals is a companion, I just don't eat my pets is all. If people want to keep a memorial pelt or something after their pet passes then I don't really see it as a big deal. The only time I get uncomfy is if the person is clearly nuts, but that's more to do with the human than the dead pet.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *